Our Lady of Medjugorje has appeared to six visionaries since 1981, telling us God exists, and that we need to return to a life of prayer. She has told them these will be her last apparitions on Earth.

This blog is here to help you live a the full, holy, and enriching life Our Lady says God wants us to live, by providing you with reviews of books related to the apparitions and messages.

Translate

Friday, December 31, 2010

Medjugorje Day by Day - December 31st Reflection

Today's reflection, from Medjugorje: Day by Day, by Richard J. Beyer:


December 31


When you hear the bells at midnight


The Mother of God speaks of peace in the new year:
Next year will be a year of peace - not because men have named it so - but because God has planned it. You will not have peace through presidents, but through prayer (LJM 12-31-85).

At the same time, to another of the little seers in Jelena's prayer group, Jesus said the following:
When you hear the bells at midnight, you shall fall on your knees, bow your head to the ground, so that the King of Peace will come. This year I will offer my peace to the world. But afterwards, I will ask where you were when I offered it (LJM 12-31-85).

Five years later, on New Year's Eve in 1990, the Gospa said to Ivan's prayer group:
Dear children, tonight your Mother invites you to go together with me to the church in joy and prayerfullness (there was a special Mass at 11:30 p.m.). In tonight's special joy, pray in church for the intention of peace (VPG 12-31-90).

------------------------------------------------------------------------

And in Romans, Paul echoes the Virgin's call to peace:
For the kingdom of God is not food and drink but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. The one who thus serves Christ is acceptable to God and has human approval. Let us then pursue what makes for peace and for mutual upbuilding (Rom 14:17-19).

 ------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reflection: The Queen of Peace fittingly closes the year with a call to peace. This has always been her central message, the primary reason for her apparitions in Medjugorje. And, with the prayers of her children, what wonders she has achieved! The fall of the Berlin Wall, the liberation of Eastern Europe, the collapse of Communism, the rebirth of the Russian republics, the rise of both democracy and the philosophy of human rights.

     A new age of peace has dawned "Not through the presidents, but through prayer." All of us who have helped Our Lady through prayer, fasting, and sacrifice; all of us who have tried to live her messages; all of us who have believed in her and trusted her - we too have had a part in ushering in this new age.

In decades to come historians will puzzle over the cataclysmic events of the 1980s and 90s, trying to figure out how it all could have happened. And most will be unaware that it was the work of a young maiden on a hillside in Yugoslavia, who wept for peace. Gathering the faithful from every land, she worked miracles. She continues to this day.

Application: On New Year's Eve in 1985, Jesus said "When you hear the bells at midnight, you will fall on your knees, bow your head to the ground, so that the King of Peace will come." Let us live that message tonight.

Friday, December 24, 2010

Medjugorje Day by Day - December 24th Reflection

I thought I'd share with everyone today's reflection, from Medjugorje: Day by Day, by Richard J. Beyer.


Merry Christmas Eve!

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews


December 24

The Vigil of Christmas


On this vigil of Christmas, the Blessed Mother calls us to glorify Jesus and his Nativity:
Dear children, for Christmas my invitation is that together we glorify Jesus. I present him to you in a special way on that day and my invitation to you is that we glorify Jesus and his nativity. Dear children, on that day pray still more and think more about Jesus (WM 12-12-85).

And on this vigil in 1990:
Dear children, tonight your Mother invites you to give her all your problems. My dear children, Rejoice! (VPGM 12-24-90).
---------------------------------------------------------

The following is Matthew's passage on the birth of Christ:
Now the birth of Jesus the Messiah took place in this way. When his mother Mary had been engaged to Joseph, but before they lived together, she was found to be with child from the Holy Spirit. Her husband Joseph, being a righteous man and unwilling to expose her to public disgrace, planned to dismiss her quietly. But just when he had resolved to do this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, "Joseph, so of David, do not be afraid to take Mary as your wife, for the child conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will bear a son, and you are to name him Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins."
     All this took place to fulfill what had been spoken by the Lord through the prophet: "Look, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and the shall name him Emmanuel," which mean, "God is with us." When Joseph awoke from sleep, he did as the angel of the Lord commanded him; he took her as his wife, but had no marital relations with her. She bore a son, and he named him Jesus (Mt 1:18-25).

---------------------------------------------------------

Reflection: Tonight we celebrate the greatest event of all time - the birth of the Messiah - the divine God taking on human flesh. For ages the Jewish people had waited for him, and when the miracle finally occurred, the first to hear of it were not the nobility or Temple hierarchy, but simple shepherds. The birth was in a stable, not a palace. Even at the beginning, the Messiah came first to the humble, the ordinary, the poor. And he still comes to them, to all with hearts humble enough to receive him.

Application: Greet the Christ child with prayer and love this evening. Give your heart as your gift.



Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Medjugorje Day by Day - December 21st Reflection

Merry Christmas!

I like, from time to time, to share readings from one of my favorite Medjugorje - related books, Medjugorje: Day by Day by Richard J. Beyer. The December 21st reflection is especially important in our current age:


December 21

Do not look toward material things

During Advent of 1985 Our Lady said:
Dear children I am calling you to prepare yourselves for Christmas by means of penance, prayer, and works of charity. Dear children do not look toward material things, because then you will not be able to experience Christmas. (WM 12-5-85)

----------------------------------------

St. Paul also warns of materialism or "worldly desires":
For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all, training us to renounce impiety and worldly passions, and in the present age to live lives that are self-controlled, upright, and godly, while we wait for the blessed hope and the manifestation of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ (Ti 2:11-13).


----------------------------------------

Reflection: Many of us are aware of the hollowness of a materialistic attitude during the Christmas season, of how it can smother the spiritual message of Christ's birth. In this vein, the Second Vatican Council stated:

     Since in our times, variations of materialism are rampant everywhere, even among Catholics, the laity should not only learn doctrine more carefully, especially those main points which are the subjects of controversy, but should also provide the witness of an evangelical life in contrast to all forms of materialism (The Laity, 31).
    
We are called, then, not just to avoid materialism in our own lives, but to serve as an example to others of simplicity of lifestyle and the priority of spiritual values over the material. 


Application
: Let us simply take Our Lady's advice today to, "prepare ... for Christmas by means of penance, prayer, and works of charity ... do not look toward material things because then you will not be able to experience Christmas."

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Our Lady of Medjugorje's December 2nd Message to Us

Hello again, everyone!

Below is the official English version of Our Lady's December 2nd, 2010 message to us, as given to the visionary Mirjana.

This messages comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children; Today I am praying here with you that you may gather the strength to open your hearts and thus to become aware of the mighty love of the suffering God. Through this His love, goodness and meekness, I am also with you. I invite you for this special time of preparation to be a time of prayer, penance and conversion. My children, you need God. You cannot go forward without my Son. When you comprehend and accept this, what was promised to you will be realized. Through the Holy Spirit the Kingdom of Heaven will be born in your hearts. I am leading you to this. Thank you."



Friday, November 26, 2010

Our Lady of Medjugorje's November 25th Message to Us

Happy Thanksgiving!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's November 25th message to us, as given to the visionary Marija. This comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children! I look at you and I see in your heart death without hope, restlessness and hunger. There is no prayer or trust in God, that is why the Most High permits me to bring you hope and joy. Open yourselves. Open your hearts to God's mercy and He will give you everything you need and will fill your hearts with peace, because He is peace and your hope. Thank you for having responded to my call."
 

- Message from Our Lady to Marija, November 25th, 2010

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Medjugorje Day by Day - November 7th Reflection

Hello, everyone.

I thought today I would share with you the November 7th reflection from Medjugorje Day by Day, by Richard J. Beyer. This is one of my favorite Medjugorje-themed books because it offers short daily reflections on a past message from Our Lady. I highly recommend adding it to your library if you're seeking an easy and effective way to apply what Our Lady is teaching us through the Medjugorje visionaries to your life. Used copies are currently selling for as little as $0.45 at Amazon.com.

The reflection below covers a topic near and dear to my heart: The idea prayer should be slow, deliberate, and deep. Words alone do not hold meaning. It is the conversation with God we experience while praying which gives us the benefit.

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews



Here is today's reflection:

"May true prayer fill your hearts

The Blessed Mother speaks of prayers in the following message:

Dear children, today I call you to prayer with the heart, and not just through habit. Some come here but do not want to make progress in prayer. Therefore, as your Mother, I want to warn you: pray that true prayer may fill our hearts at every moment (WM 5-2-85). [Message from Our Lady May 5th, 1985].

--------------------------------------
And from Psalm 141:
I call upon you, O Lord; come quickly to me;
give ear to my voice when I call to you.
Let my prayer be as incense before you,
and the lifting up of my hands as an evening
sacrifice.
-- Psalm 141:1-2


Reflection: Again Our Lady speaks of prayer with the heart and the tremendous grace it gives. Perhaps the highest form of this prayer is the "prayer of quiet" or "centering prayer," in which we experience God in the very depths of our being. To experience this prayer, the following guidelines will be helpful:

   A. Choose a place where you can be alone without distraction. Take a comfortable bodily position, close our eyes, and put everything out of our mind.

   B. Physically relax and let all tensions leave you. Deep, deliberate breathing will aid this process. Let your total being, mind and body, arrive at a gentle silence.

   C. Center all your attention on God and let a word or phrase form in your consciousness. You can use "Jesus," or "Jesus, have mercy," or "Come Holy Spirit," or whatever else will relate you to the Lord.

   D. The word or phrase ma be repeated often or interspersed with periods of complete silence. This is your way of reaching out for and receiving the Lord.

   E. Your prayer should end slowly and quietly. You may wish to recite an Our Father or Hail Mary meditatively. On occasion the Lord ma invite you to a deeper silence or listening and you will come to know the joy of his Spirit in fullest measure, even in ecstasy.


Application: Practice the prayer of quiet withing the next several days. For a fuller explanation consult the books by Fr. Basil Pennington on centering prayer."

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's November 2nd, 2010 Message Through Mirjana

Hello, everyone.

Below is the official English version of Our Lady's November 2nd message, as given through the visionary Mirjana. This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Sincerely,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews



"Dear children; With motherly perseverance and love I am bringing you the light of life to destroy the darkness of death in you. Do not reject me, my children. Stop and look within yourselves and see how sinful you are. Be aware of your sins and pray for forgiveness. My children, you do not desire to accept that you are weak and little, but you can be strong and great by doing God's will. Give me your cleansed hearts that I may illuminate them with the light of life, my Son. Thank you." 

Monday, October 25, 2010

Our Lady's October 25, 2010 Message for the World

Hello, everyone.

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's October 25th message to the world, as given to the visionary Marija.

This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Sincerely,

Erik Haan




“Dear children! May this time be a time of prayer for you. My call, little children, desires to be for you a call to decide to follow the way of conversion; therefore, pray and seek the intercession of all the saints. May they be for you an example, an incentive and a joy towards eternal life. Thank you for having responded to my call.”

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's October 2nd, 2010 Message for Unbelievers

Hello, all!

Below is the official English version of Our Lady's October 2nd message to Mirjana. The message is intended for "unbelievers", who are those of us who have not yet come to know and believe in God's love. I think the messages given to Mirjana are really for all of us, though, because we all have moments during which we're disconnected from God's will. Look at this as inspiration!


Sincerely,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children, Today I call you to a humble, my children, humble devotion. Your hearts need to be just. May your crosses be your means in the battle against the sins of the present time. May your weapon be patience and boundless love – a love that knows to wait and which will make you capable of recognizing God's signs – that your life, by humble love, may show the truth to all those who seek it in the darkness of lies. My children, my apostles, help me to open the paths to my Son. Once again I call you to pray for your shepherds. Alongside them, I will triumph. Thank you."   -- Message from Our Lady to Mirjana, October 2nd, 2010

Saturday, September 25, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's September 25th, 2010 Message for the World

Below you will find the official English translation of Our Lady's September 25th message to the world, as given to us by the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web. This message was given to the visionary Marija.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews








“Dear children! Today I am with you and bless you all with my motherly blessing of peace, and I urge you to live your life of faith even more, because you are still weak and are not humble. I urge you, little children, to speak less and to work more on your personal conversion so that your witness may be fruitful. And may your life be unceasing prayer. Thank you for having responded to my call.”

Monday, September 6, 2010

Book Review - The Medjugorje Prayer Book, by Wayne Weible




Hello again, everyone!

I just finished reading The Medjugorje Prayer Book, by Wayne Weible. This was a book I wasn't too sure I'd be excited about when I picked it up, but one I came to really appreciate by the time I put it down. My thoughts are below.

Before I continue to the review, though, I would just like to remind all of you why I'm doing reviews such as these, and why I think these resources are important to you. 

I've spent the past several years immersed in reading messages from Our Lady of Medjugorje as well as many resources devoted to spreading those messages. It is amazing Our Lady blesses us with words of guidance, giving us the blueprint to make it to Heaven.

But there is a reason Our Lady is coming to us, and for such a long time now. The apparitions at Medjugorje (over 25 years) are the longest-lasting apparitions of Our Lady in history. Our Lady has told the visionaries these are also her last apparitions on Earth, because after these apparitions her presence here will no longer be necessary. She is coming to us because the world needs correction:

"I have come to tell the world that God exists. He is the fullness of life, and to enjoy this fullness and peace, you must return to God".

There is little known about the secrets the Medjugorje visionaries hold, but we know some involve chastisements which will come to the world after the apparitions are complete. This doesn't matter, because if Our Lady wanted us to know about them she would have told us. The point is that we all have to be doing better because God is not happy with the state of the world. We don't know when the apparitions will cease, which means our personal conversion needs to begin now. 

There are many reported miracles and healing which has come from what is happening at Medjugorje. These blessings are examples to us that all things are possible through God. It's that "fullness and peace" Our Lady spoke of. She wants us to have that. We're all capable of it, but we need to take steps forward in our conversion to achieve it.

And it's not difficult. It just involves small steps. Reading the monthly messages is a start. Applying them to our lives is the point, though. Simply being interested in what is going on doesn't help. We all need to take Our Lady's words to heart and make it happen. 

This is why I am making these great resources known to you. They have helped me start to take those small steps forward, to start to put to practice what Our Lady asks of us, and I know they can for you, too.

Our Lady has really made the point that, overall, we're kind of asleep at the wheel in our lives. We have so many distractions nowadays that it is really no wonder. But there are tons of good resources out there, which can help us get and stay on track for the only thing that really matters - our eternal life.

I hope that you find my recommendations useful (tell me if there is something I could be doing better, because I appreciate your feedback). But whether you use these resources or others, seek and learn and grow and spread what you know!

Erik Haan



Good resource for: 

Anyone who is looking for deeper, more meditative prayer. This is a good read for those of us who feel prayer is saying a bunch of words but don't feel that connectedness with God when we say those words.


Summary:

An important lesson I've learned from my research of the messages of Our Lady of Medjugorje is that prayer is a conversation with Jesus / God / Mary / The Holy Spirit. Conversations, according to Dictionary.com, are an "informal interchange of thoughts, information, etc., by spoken words". The point of this book is to make prayer that "informal interchange" and a more relaxed and fulfilling experience for you. It's all about connecting with Jesus / God / Mary / The Holy Spirit on that personal level.

Weible does this in The Medjugorje Prayer Book by taking us through what he calls "The School of Prayer". 

"The School of Prayer" is a library of meditations which can be said on their own or prior to traditional prayers, such as the Rosary. Weible, a former Protestant who converted to Catholicism after personal experiences related to the apparitions of Our Lady of Medjugorje, presents prayers he has come to feel inspired by Our Lady to say throughout the years. They're meditations which help him to stay out of the rut of just saying the words of the Rosary, for instance, without really meaning what we're saying.

This is where I really connected with this book. In my own personal prayer life, it seems there are certain prayers which have just popped into my head and then become part of my daily routine. I think this comes from slowing things down and listening in the silence of meditative prayer. So  I think Weible is really presenting something which can help take your personal prayer life to the next level. 

Weible is quick to point out his meditations are more a guideline than anything. While he encourages his readers to use the prayers which he has come to find have helped him, he also points out that as we grow in our prayer life we'll come to find our own meditations which serve us better.

So I definitely recommend this book for those seeking deeper meditation during prayer. You can currently purchase a used copy for as little as $5.81 at Amazon.com. You can also read other reviews, the front and back covers, and a few pages there, by the way!


Thursday, September 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's September 2nd Message (for Unbelievers)

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's September 2nd, 2010 message through Medjugorje visionary Mirjana. This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Medjugorje.net.
Mirjana has reportedly been tasked by Our Lady with praying for "unbelievers" (those who have "not yet come to know God's love", according to Mirjana).

Faith,

Erik Haan

Medjugorje Book Reviews












“Dear children, I am beside you because I desire to help you to overcome trials, which this time of purification puts before you. My children, one of those is not to forgive and not to ask for forgiveness. Every sin offends Love and distances you from it – and Love is my Son. Therefore, my children, if you desire to walk with me towards the peace of God’s love, you must learn to forgive and to ask for forgiveness. Thank you.”  






Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's August 25th, 2010 Message to the World

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's August 25th, 2010 message to the world, as given to the visionary Marija.

This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children! With great joy, also today, I desire to call you anew: pray, pray, pray. May this time be a time of personal prayer for you. During the day, find a place where you will pray joyfully in a recollected way. I love you and bless you all. Thank you for having responded to my call."





Monday, August 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's August 2nd Message (for Unbelievers)


Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's August 2nd, 2010 message through Medjugorje visionary Mirjana. This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Mirjana has reportedly been tasked by Our Lady with praying for "unbelievers" (those who have "not yet come to know God's love", according to Mirjana).



Faith,


Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews










"Dear children! Today I call you, together with me, to begin to build the Kingdom of Heaven in your hearts; that you may forget that what is personal and - led by the example of my Son - think of what is of God. What does He desire of you? Do not permit Satan to open the paths of earthly happiness, the paths without my Son. My children, they are false and last a short while. My Son exists. I offer you eternal happiness and peace and unity with my Son, with God; I offer you the Kingdom of God. Thank you."
 
 
 
 

Monday, July 26, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's July 25th, 2010 Message for the World (through Marija)

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's July 25th, 2010 message for the world, as given through Medjugorje visionary Marija.

This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children! Anew I call you to
follow me with joy. I desire to lead all of you to my Son, your
Savior. You are not aware that without Him you do not have joy
and peace, nor a future or eternal life. Therefore, little
children, make good use of this time of joyful prayer and
surrender. Thank you for having responded to my call."




Saturday, July 10, 2010

Why You Shouldn't Go to Mass "Lukewarm"

I just picked up an interesting tidbit from the latest book I'm reading, Medjugorje Prayer Book: you'll only get out of Mass what you bring to it.

The portion of the book I just read has excerpts from a locutionist, someone who hears Jesus's words through her heart (but doesn't experience an apparition), and this is what she relayed:

"Just as with every time you come to receive me in the sacrament of the Holy Eucharist, I again give you My whole being. Do you desire to remain in darkness instead of in My Light? Why do you continue to disregard Mine and My Father's gifts to you? I love you, my children. I AM your Jesus of Mercy."

Friday, July 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's July 2nd, 2010 Message (through Mirjana)

Hello, everyone.

Below is the official English text of Our Lady's July 2nd, 2010 message for the world, as given through the visionary Mirjana.

This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear children, my motherly call, which I direct to you today, is a call of truth and life. My Son, who is Life, loves you and knows you in truth. To come to know and to love yourself, you must come to know my Son; to come to know and to love others, you must see my Son in them. Therefore, my children, pray, pray, that you may comprehend and surrender with a spirit that is free, be completely transformed and, in this way, may have the Kingdom of Heaven in your heart on earth. Thank you!"

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's June 25th, 2010 Message (through Marija)

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's 25th message for the world, as given through Medjugorje visionary Marija.

This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




“Dear children! With joy, I call you all to live my messages with joy; only in this way, little children, will you be able to be closer to my Son. I desire to lead you all only to Him, and in Him you will find true peace and the joy of your heart. I bless you all and love you with immeasurable love. Thank you for having responded to my call.”


Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's June 2nd, 2010 Message (through Mirjana)

Hello, everyone.

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's June 2nd, 2010 message to the world, as given through the visionary Mirjana.

This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews




"Dear Children, Today I call you with prayer and fasting to clear the path in which my Son will enter into your hearts. Accept me as a mother and a messenger of God's love and His desire for your salvation. Free yourself of everything from the past which burdens you, that gives you a sense of guilt, that which previously led you astray in error and darkness. Accept the light. Be born anew in the righteousness of my Son. Thank you."

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's May 25th, 2010 Message to the World

Hello, everyone.


Below you will find the official English translation of Our Lady's May 25th message to the world, as given to us by the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web. This message was given to the visionary Marija.




Faith,


Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews








"Dear children! God gave you the grace to live and to defend all the good that is in you and around you, and to inspire others to be better and holier; but Satan, too, does not sleep and through modernism diverts you and
leads you to his way. Therefore, little children, in the love for my Immaculate Heart, love God above everything and live His commandments. In this  way, your life will have meaning and peace will rule on earth. Thank you for having responded to my call."




Sunday, May 9, 2010

Book Review - Medjugorje Day by Day


Hello, everyone. I started reading Medjugorje Day by Day, by Richard J. Beyer book a couple of weeks ago and I'm really enjoying it, so I wanted to share it with you, my faithful readers!

Okay, so admittedly the book's cover doesn't teem with excitement (the cover reminds me of old books from the 1960's I would find in my parent's attic when I would go up there searching for something else) ... but this really is a great resource. "You can't judge a book by its cover", right? :) I've been waiting for an opportunity to use that cliche on this blog. I just had to. :)

Anyways, here are a few thoughts:


Good resource for: 

Anyone looking for brief, daily meditations on Our Lady of Medjugorje's messages


Summary:

This is a great book for busy people (like myself), who have little time to read each day, to reflect daily on what Our Lady is trying to get across to us. It also does a great job of linking the messages to scripture.

Each daily meditation takes no more than three minutes to read, so if you're telling yourself you don't have time to reflect on the messages Our Lady gives us at Medjugorje, you have now officially run out of excuses. :)

The format is this:
  • Past message from Our Lady
  • Brief scripture passage, which relates to the message
  • Reflection on the message
  • Application (how to apply what Our Lady requests to our own life)

Here's what it looks like:




(currently selling from $0.01 used!!!)



Sunday, May 2, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's May 2nd, 2010 Message (through Mirjana)

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's May 2nd, 2010 message to the world, as given through the visionary Mirjana.

This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan





"Dear children; Today, through me, the good Father calls you to, with your soul filled with
love, set out on a spiritual visitation. Dear children, be filled with grace,
sincerely repent for your sins and yearn for the good. Yearn also in the name of
those who have not come to know the perfection of the good. You will be more
pleasing to God. Thank you."




Sunday, April 25, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's April 25th, 2010 Message (through Marija)

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's April 25th, 2010 message to us, given through the visionary Marija. This message is brought to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews





“Dear children! At this time, when in a special way you are praying and seeking my intercession, I call you, little children, to pray so that through your prayers I can help you to have all the more hearts be opened to my messages. Pray for my intentions. I am with you and I intercede before my Son for each of you. Thank you for having responded to my call.”


Friday, April 2, 2010

Good Friday - The Passion of the Christ

Hello, everyone.

I've kept a tradition for the past few years of watching The Passion of the Christ every Good Friday, and this year I purchased a copy (I had been renting but it was becoming too difficult to find a local video store which had a copy in stock).

I'm assuming most of you have seen the movie already, but highly recommend watching it if you haven't. I think it's the best religious-themed movie ever created. It's powerful and really drives home what Jesus went through to establish a new covenant between us and God.

Call your local video store and ask if they have it in stock or purchase a copy at Amazon.com.



Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews

Medjugorje - Our Lady's April 2nd, 2010 Message (through Mirjana)

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's April 2nd, 2010 message through Mirjana, one of the Medjugorje visionaries. This message comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,



Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews








"Dear children; Today I bless you in a special way and I pray for you to return to the right way, to my Son - your Saviour, your Redeemer – to Him who gave you eternal life. Reflect on everything human, on everything that does not permit you to set out after my Son – on transience, imperfection and limitation - and then think of my Son, of His Devine infiniteness. By your surrender and prayer ennoble your body and perfect your soul. Be ready, my children. Thank you."


Our Lady  blessed all people  and all the religious articles that we had for blessing. As Our Lady was leaving Mirjana saw a large golden Cross behind Our Lady.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's March 25th, 2010 Message to the World

Below you will find the official English translation of Our Lady's March 25th message to the world, as given to us by the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web. This message was given to the visionary Marija.

March 25th is a special day because it is a day on which we receive a message from Mary, the Feast of the Annunciation, and also my mother's birthday. Happy Birthday, Mom!


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews







"Dear children! Also today I desire to call you all to be strong in prayer and in the moments when trials attack you. Live your Christian vocation in joy and humility and witness to everyone. I am with you and I carry you all before my Son Jesus, and He will be your strength and support. Thank you for having responded to my call."

Friday, March 19, 2010

Mirjana's Annual March 18 Apparition

Hello, everyone!

Below is the official English version of Our Lady's annual March 18th message to Mirjana. Our Lady promised Mirjana she would give her an annual message on Mirjana's birthday.

This comes to us from the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Sincerely,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews






"Dear children! Today I call you to love with all your heart and with all your soul. Pray for the gift of love, because when the soul loves it calls my Son to itself. My Son does not refuse those who call Him and who desire to live according to Him. Pray for those who do not comprehend love, who do not understand what it means to love. Pray that God may be their Father and not their Judge. My children, you be my apostles, be my river of love. I need you. Thank you."

Friday, March 12, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's Messages from 1984

So I've been finishing up the end of Visions of the Children...The last part of the book is all of Our Lady's messages for the world dating from 1984.

Did you know you can read these yourself? I encourage you to do so. There are so many amazing messages.


Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

A Powerful Dream

A few of my Facebook friends (click the link if you would like to friend me on Facebook) have asked me to explain the powerful dream I had, which kicked off my interest in more-deeply investigating my faith and learn more about the reported apparitions of Medjugorje.

This is actually something I blogged about a while back, so those of you who are interested in hearing my story can find it here.

I would love to hear your stories, too! Feel free to share how you came to learn about Medjugorje by clicking the "Comments" link at the bottom of this post.


Thanks!

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's March 2nd Message to Mirjana

Hello, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's March 2nd, 2010 message to Mirjana. This is brought to us by the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Faith,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews





"Dear children, In this special time of your effort to be all the closer to my Son, to His suffering, but also to the love with which He bore it, I desire to tell you that I am with you. I will help you to triumph over errors and temptations with my grace. I will teach you love, love which wipes away all sins and makes you perfect, love which gives you the peace of my Son now and forever.  Peace with you and in you, because I am the Queen of Peace. Thank you."

Friday, February 26, 2010

Medjugorje - Our Lady's February 25th Message to the World

Happy Friday, everyone!

Below you will find the official English version of Our Lady's February 25th message to the world, as given through the visionary Marija.

This is brought to us by the Information Center in Medjugorje, via Steve and Ana Shawl of Medjugorje Web.


Sincerely,

Erik Haan
Medjugorje Book Reviews





"Dear children! In this time of grace, when nature also prepares to give the most beautiful colors of the year, I call you, little children, to open your hearts to God the Creator for Him to transform and mould you in His image, so that all the good which has fallen asleep in your hearts may awaken to a new life and a longing towards eternity. Thank you for having responded to my call."